New barn, no problems

Have you ever wished you could have a new family? Well, the luxury of riding allows you to pick and choose which barn you ride with, but it is a huge decision to make.

After an extended period of time away from the hunter ring I have decided to get back in the swing of things. Now, I am picky… like I want all of the focus on me, but that comes with a pretty big price tag. After extensive research and a ton of Facebook stalking, I have found my new home. I have ridden at huge farms with over 20 showing clients and my dad and I have even owned our own farm, but the focus has never been on me. I was the owner’s daughter and had no fun doing what I love. It makes no sense, so it is time to change.

I found a small farm outside of Lexington that caters to the training and selling of young show horses, but their website didn’t say much about showing and boarding with clients. I took a leap of faith and visited the farm and I was home. One, they have a super cute red- headed gelding that I must have. Two, they didn’t refer to themselves as professional trainers, which I despise. Three, I haven’t even taken a lesson with them and I have already been invited to go clinic with George Morris…. GEORGE MORRIS!

A very young George Morris aboard Sinjon. (showjumpingnostalgia.com)

A very young George Morris aboard Sinjon. (showjumpingnostalgia.com)

George H. Morris is like the founding father of hunters and jumpers. He is one of the biggest names in all things horses. Morris began riding as a child. In 1952, at the age of fourteen, he won the ASPCA Maclay Horsemanship Finals and the American Horse Show Association Hunt Seat Equitation Medal Final at Madision Square Garden. Morris rode on eight winning Nations Cup teams between 1958 and 1960. He went on to train numerous riders at his Hunterdon  stables in New Jersey. This man is my idol. I have read all of his books and I read his column in Practical Horseman called Jumping Clinic. Riding with him would be an honor, but I am going to have to pass because I have to attend my favorite cousin’s wedding!

A simple invitation to this clinic made me feel so much better after my decision to start riding at a new barn. I am looking forward to many long days and great times with my new family! 🙂

2 comments on “New barn, no problems

  1. olimauk says:

    Why do horses have such wierd names???????

  2. hhinebaugh says:

    That’s cool you get to ride with him. You can get his autograph!

Leave a Reply

